Getting Started

There are a few different ways to use the Settings Switcher extension, but first you must:
  1. Download and install Settings Switcher
  2. Make sure that the Settings Switcher toolbar is visible.
Once you have the Settings Switcher toolbar available, choose any of the following common procedures:

▶ Export Settings

Click the Export Current Settings Button.png button to export the current settings to a new .vssettings file. The new settings will automatically appear in the list as the selected item.

▶ Switch Visual Studio Settings and Format All Files

  1. Simply select the settings that you want from the drop-down list and they will be applied immediately.
  2. If you have an active solution, press the Format Solution Button.png button to format all files with the current settings.

▶ Associate Settings with a Solution

  1. Open an existing solution for which you want to associate specific settings.
  2. Select the settings that you want from the drop-down list and they will be applied immediately.
  3. When you close the solution or Visual Studio, the current settings are associated with the solution.
  4. The next time you open the solution its associated settings are applied automatically.

▶ Associate New Settings with a Solution

  1. Open an existing solution for which you want to associate specific settings.
  2. Configure settings in the Tools > Options... dialog.
  3. Click the Export Current Settings Button.png button to export the current settings.
  4. When you close the solution or Visual Studio, the current settings are associated with the solution.
  5. The next time you open the solution its associated settings are applied automatically.

Feature Details

Active Solution Settings

When a solution is closed or Visual Studio is closed, the currently selected settings are associated with the solution. The associated settings are applied automatically whenever the solution is opened.

This feature is enabled by default, but it can be disabled in Tools > Options > Settings Switcher. See Options below for details.

Note: Settings Switcher associates a solution with a settings file by writing the path of the selected .vssettings file to the solution's .suo file. Settings files and the .suo file are not typically checked into source control, so you must send each member of your team the settings file and they will have to select the correct settings manually the first time that they open the solution.
Note: Related work item: Solution Settings File

Settings Switcher Toolbar

ToolBar.png
The toolbar provides commands to quickly import or export settings and to perform other useful operations.

Note: If the toolbar isn't visible and you've already installed Settings Switcher, right-mouse click anywhere in Visual Studio's toolbar tray and select Settings Switcher.

Drop-down List

Selecting an item in the drop-down list immediately imports those settings into Visual Studio. Your selection is also remembered across Visual Studio sessions.

The drop-down list contains all of the .vssettings files in the directory where Visual Studio is configured to export the current settings file:

Tools > Options > Environment > Import and Export Settings > Automatically save my settings to this file.

Note: Settings Switcher does not detect when you change this setting. You must restart Visual Studio for the changes to take effect.

Export Current Settings Export Current Settings Button.png

Saves the current settings to a file.

By default, you are prompted to choose a path for the file, but you can enable an option to overwrite the currently selected file in the drop-down list. See Options below for details.

Format Solution Format Solution Button.png

Formats all files in the solution.

A warning dialog is always displayed before the operation is performed, allowing you to cancel it.

Options

An options page is available to configure Settings Switcher: Tools > Options > Settings Switcher.

SettingsSwitcherOptions.png

Overwrite Selected Settings File

Indicates whether exporting the current settings overwrites the selected settings file or prompts to enter a file path. The default value is false.

Synchronize Selected Settings

Indicates whether the currently selected settings file is associated with the current solution and is automatically applied whenever the solution is opened. The default value is true.

Last edited Dec 7, 2012 at 9:06 AM by davedev, version 15

Comments

No comments yet.